My Colorful Jhopri

My Very First Varamahalakshmi Vratham

Amavarou (Godess Lakshmi) is decorated with Amman Mukham (Small sculputed face of Varamahalakshmi) – important accessories such as Kalasa Chambou (a pot like utensil, usually made of brass or silver which are considered best for ritual ceremonies), Blouse Piece, New Sari and the ornaments which you have got.

On Second Friday of Sravana Masam (which corresponds to the English months of July–August) all the hindu’s across the world perform Varalakshmi Vratham. It was my first Varalakshmi Vratham after my wedding and luckily my Grand-mom was there to start the pooja.I was super excited to perform this puja.

Amavarou Mandapam

Varalakshmi Vratham is a festival to propitiate the goddess Lakshmi, the consort of Vishnu, one of the Hindu Trinity. Varalakshmi is one who grants boons (Varam). It is an important pooja performed by many women in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka,Tamilnadu and few places in Maharashtra.
Varalakshmi Vratham is peformed by married woman for the well being of all the family members, especially husband, to get progency etc. It is believed that worshipping Goddess Varalakshmi on this day is equivalent to worshipping Ashtalaksmi (the eight goddesses) – Sri (Wealth), Bhu (Earth), Sarasvati (learning), Priti (love), Kirti (Fame), Santi (Peace), Tushti(Pleasure) and Pushti(Strength). Each one of these forces is called a Lakshmi and all the eight forces are called the Ashta Lakshmis or the eight Lakshmis of the Hindus.

Maha Naivdyam for Varalakshmi Puja (11 Varities)- Tamarind Rice, Puri, Allu Fry, Tamato Dal, Semiya Payasam, Tomato-Mint Chutney, Sundal, Channa Dal Vada, Sambar, White Rice and Fruits

The day before the pooja (On Thursday) with the help of cousins and my aunt we decorated the Pooja Manadapam and was mostly set for the next day.The deity…a silver mask placed over the coconut on the kalash, and decorated to resemble a goddess.
Got up 5:30 AM in the morning and after taking quick shower I started cooking for Maha Naivadyam without onions and garlic.
On this day before the puja whatever you make, you should offer everything to God and then after the pooja you can break the fast.

Varalakshmi Vratham Vayanam For Godess Lakshmi and to my dear friends and family

Even though it was my first pooja we didnt call the pandit, with the help of my grandmom I was able to follow the procudure and performed the pooja. We chanted Lakshmi Ashtotram and Lakshmi Sahasranamam and ended the pooja with Varalakshmi Vratham Story. Then I gave Vayanam to amamvarou (goddess Lakshmi) and broke our fast.

Puja Decoration in the evening with all lights

In the evening I have invited lot of my friends/neighbours for Varalakshmi Vratham Vayanam. After this beautiful Pooja, my grandmom told me that I have to perform this pooja every year in the similar way. At the end I was really happy and delighted to do this pooja.

To learn more about this pooja click here

Thanks for taking time to leave your comments.

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2012 by in Festivals.

About Me

Welcome to My Colorful Jhopri

My Colorful Jhopri

August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 283 other followers

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
All content and pictures on this site are the copyright of Shruthi © 2006-20012 | You may not copy or reproduce any of this material without prior written permission | All Rights Reserved

Archives

