My Colorful Jhopri

Trash To Treasure…..

The moment I saw this beautiful glass vase in HomeGoods , I thought this would be perfect gift for my aunt’s Birthday in the form of Sand Terrarium. It was suppose to be surprise Birthday gift for her but unfortunately I broke it (just a small hole on the lower right side). A fine glass vase goes from treasure to trash :(. Luckily it wasn’t a major damage to the vase but didn’t know how to fix the problem.

Broken Vase

Couple of my friends and family suggested me to recycle the vase instead of reusing because of the safety issues. But I was like how can I trash this fine glass vase…why can’t we reuse it 😦
Then one of my dear friend Lori Carrig suggested me to fix the vase with clay and be creative after that. That’s it, perfect idea and remembered how Vidya fixed her broken planter.

Clay, Hot Glue, Jute Twine, transparent Sellotape

First I covered the vase with sellotape where it was broken so that I can get some base to cover it with clay. Then I took the clay and covered up the holes inside and outside.

Work In Progress

Now the real work started, I have never used the hot glue gun before, So my cousins jumped in to help me in this project. So sweet of them to help me out, lucky to have them…

Cousins helping me around

It took us almost one hour to wrap the whole broken-messy part. Finally we finished covering the damaged part with jute twine…Not bad right???

Final Product

my first DIY project and had loads of fun with my cousins while doing this project….a fine glass vase from trash to treasure.

Beautiful Sand Terrarium

11 comments on “Trash To Treasure…..

  1. Usha
    August 1, 2012

    Good job, Shruthi! Terrarium looks good

    • Shruthi
      August 1, 2012

      Thanks Usha!

  2. Pingback: Week29/Day203: Completely Devoted To DIY… « 365 Days of Sweet Memories

  3. That was a great save! Totally book marking the clay tip. Very clever. And the jute twine adds an additional natural vibe to the terrarium.

    • Shruthi
      August 2, 2012

      Thanks Vidya, I thought of using regular twine like yours but when I went to A C More, one of the sweet sales person suggested me to use Jute twine….

  4. himabindu
    August 4, 2012

    thanx for showimg others how to use a broken vase!!

    • Shruthi
      September 12, 2012

      you are most welcome bindu akka

  5. Pingback: Week31/Day214: Completed Broken Glass Vase Project « 365 Days of Sweet Memories

  6. Pingback: Reader Showcase – Double the Inspiration | Whats Ur Home Story?

  7. Luxuxry Bath Vanity
    September 14, 2012

    Hey that was seriously ” A Trash to Treasure” job. Your gift is looking lovely and I am sure your aunt will love this.
    All the best!!!!

    • Shruthi
      September 14, 2012

      Thanks a lot and ya she is enjoying her gift 🙂

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2013 by in DIY.

About Me

Welcome to My Colorful Jhopri

My Colorful Jhopri

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 283 other followers

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
All content and pictures on this site are the copyright of Shruthi © 2006-20012 | You may not copy or reproduce any of this material without prior written permission | All Rights Reserved

Archives

